The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Transportation Engineering and Science Program

TennSMART Core People

The TennSMART team includes experts from all fields of vehicle technologies and traffic and systems planning and execution.


Dr. Claus Daniel
ORNL Sustainable Transportation Program

Mr. Tom Rogers
Industrial Partnerships and Economic Development

Mr. Daniel Miller
Industrial Partnerships and Economic Development

Dr. David Smith
Center for Transportation Analysis (CTA)

Dr. Jan-Mou Li
Traffic engineer
Center for Transportation Analysis (CTA)

Dr. Jackeline Rios-Torres
Wigner Fellow and automated vehicle expert
Center for Transportation Analysis (CTA)

Dr. Robert Wagner
Fuels, Engines, and Emissions Research Center

Dr. Burak Ozpineci
Power Electronics and Electric Machines Research Center

Mr. Paul Chambon
Vehicle integration expert and representative for Vehicle Security Center


Dr. Bharat Soni
Vice President
Research and Economic Development

Mr. Tom Brewer
Associate Vice President for Workforce Outreach

Several faculty members in the Tennessee Center for Intelligent Mobility


Dr. David Clarke
Center for Transportation Research

Dr. Stephen Richards
Southeast Transportation Center

Dr. Asad J. Khattak
Beaman Distinguished Professorof Civil and Environmental Engineering
Transportation Program Coordinator
Head of UTK Connected and Automated Vehicle Group

Dr. Subhadeep Chakraborty
Assistant Professor
Mechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering

Dr. Airton Kohls
Research Associate
Center for Transportation Research

Several faculty members in various programs throughout the UTK campus


The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System